Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Minimum wage increasing by 9.8% 08:45 - Nov 22 with 3181 viewsgeg1992

Interested to hear peoples thoughts on this. I'm surprised how high it is, I assume as the election looms.

On one hand I'm happy that those struggling will have more in their pocket.

On the other hand, surely this will put pressure on services inflation again? I must admit that I don't know a huge about economics and I'm just learning so happy to be corrected and hear other peoples thoughts.

Also, I have seen many posts arguing that this makes the average earner worse off, as minimum wage has increased twice by close to 10% in the past 2 years yet many average earners wages have increased below this, some not at all.

On LinkedIn, I have seen many people also argue that this puts more pressure on businesses at a time where many are struggling.

Hopefully this doesn't turn into a 10 page argument.
[Post edited 22 Nov 2023 8:46]

Poll: Who would you play in place of Burns on Sunday?

Minimum wage increasing by 9.8% on 08:49 - Nov 22 with 2558 viewseireblue

Target is a 12 pager now, I know…, but that’s inflation for you.
Minimum wage increasing by 9.8% on 08:53 - Nov 22 with 2537 viewsthebooks

[shrugs]

It’s not enough to live on considering the cost of things and inflation.

Wage deflation for “average earners” has been a problem for decades in the UK. It doesn’t mean low earners should also suffer (in the same way that pensionsers shouldn’t be made to suffer because pension increases seem high).

It will have zero effect on inflation, which increased due to various international factors. It might mean more people will be able to pay their bills.

The government could do lots of things to better help small businesses. Big business is doing fine.
Minimum wage increasing by 9.8% on 08:55 - Nov 22 with 2531 viewsgordon

The effect on inflation will be pretty much non-existent / tiny.