Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Town Host Mowbray's Blackburn on Opening Day
Thursday, 21st Jun 2018 09:00

New boss Paul Hurst’s first Sky Bet Championship game in charge of Town will be a home fixture against newly-promoted Blackburn Rovers, who are managed by former Blues skipper and coach Tony Mowbray.

The Lancastrians, who battled with Hurst’s Shrewsbury side towards the top of League One last season before beating them to second place, are scheduled to visit Portman Road on Saturday 4th August.

Town’s first away match of the season is the following week, Saturday 11th August, at Rotherham United, where Hurst spent virtually all of his playing career and who defeated his Shrews in the League One play-off final.

Following the extensive midweek Carabao Cup trip to Exeter, August’s Championship campaign continues with the Blues’ second home game against Aston Villa, Saturday 18th August, before a Tuesday 21st August trip to Derby County.

The opening month of the season ends with Saturday 25th August’s visit to Sheffield Wednesday, the club Steel City-born Hurst supported as a boy.

September opens with the first East Anglian derby of the season against Norwich City at Portman Road, which is currently set for Saturday 1st September but is almost certain to switch to a lunchtime kick-off on the following day. The first international break of the season follows.

The season’s second month then continues with a trip to Hull City, Saturday 15th September, Brentford make the trip to Suffolk on a Wednesday rather than the usual Tuesday, 19th September, then Bolton visit Portman Road on Saturday 22nd September and finally the Blues travel to Birmingham City, Saturday 29th September.

The second East Anglian derby of the season at Carrow Road is currently set for Saturday 9th February, but again will almost certainly move to the following day at lunchtime.

The Christmas/New Year period sees the Blues at home to Sheffield United on Saturday 22nd December, but are away at QPR on Boxing Day, which is followed by a lengthy trip to Teesside to take on Middlesbrough on Saturday 29th December.

New Year’s Day sees Millwall at Portman Road with the FA Cup third round the following weekend.

The run-in will see Town visit Bolton Wanderers on Saturday 6th April, before a midweek visit to Brentford, Tuesday 9th April.

Birmingham are in Suffolk on Saturday 13th April, then the Blues travel to Preston North End on Friday 19th April, which is Good Friday, with a home match against Swansea City on Easter Monday.

Town are at Bramall Lane to play Sheffield United in their final away match of the season on Saturday 27th April before the season ends with a home game against Leeds United, Sunday 5th May, which kicks-off at 12.30pm.

In addition to the early season trip to Derby, the away game against Leeds is also in midweek, Wednesday 24th October. The Blues also have a midweek away game at Bristol City on Tuesday 12th March.

Further to Swansea’s Easter visit to Portman Road, the Blues host the other two newly-relegated former Premier League clubs, West Brom and Stoke, on Saturday 24th November and Saturday 16th February respectively.

Town face the Swans away on Saturday 6th October, visit the Potters on Saturday 8th December and the Baggies on Saturday 9th March.

A full list of Town’s 2018/19 fixtures can be found here.

Photo: Action Images



Please report offensive, libellous or inappropriate posts by using the links provided.



itfcserbia added 09:04 - Jun 21
Well certainly the teams Hurst knows well from last season. A chance for a good start against some very confident teams following their promotions.
0

DJ27 added 09:22 - Jun 21
Two of the 'easier' fixtures we could have asked for to start with. It's only when you look at the rest of the fixtures and realise how many good teams there are and how much more difficult this league is getting every year. Excited for the season now and hoping we have a belter of a start!
0

nhabo added 09:59 - Jun 21
Well, those who wanted Mowbray at Portman Road for the start of the season have got their wish!
3

TheTrueBlue1878 added 11:11 - Jun 21
Happy with that, good way to show Paul Hurst what kind of atmosphere Portman Road CAN generate.
2

JCTractorboy added 12:04 - Jun 21
I wouldn't call Blackburn an 'easier' game. I think they could be a danger this season. Still we've got to play everyone at some point and given it's the championship i don't think any team really fears any other team and that's the way it should be!
1

JewellintheTown added 12:34 - Jun 21
From that photo of Mogga, he looks like he's just heard McGoldrick has gotten to all the pies before him.
0

big_gaz67 added 17:30 - Jun 21
Thanks for this information. I thought Milne said that they were going to strive to keep derby games on the Saturdays - it absolutely frustrates me they move to a Sunday. There is absolutely no reason why the can't be on a Saturday afternoon.....
1


You need to login in order to post your comments

Blogs 248 bloggers

Ipswich Town Polls

About Us Contact Us Terms & Conditions Privacy Cookies Advertising
© TWTD 1995-2018