Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Would I trust this man to be the head of the my children's school? 20:56 - Dec 9 with 1061 viewsDistantBlue

I left the UK a long while ago. But visit often enough and am geographically close enough to care about my homeland's political future. I, like many, are enduring a week of despair at the prospects of Thursday result.
I work in education and regularly try to find parallels between my familiar working world and, in this case the political world. If Boris Johnson was the head of a school, what sort of school would that be and perhaps more importantly, would it be a school that you would send your own children to? Education is all about trust, trust in the integrity of the teachers, trust in educational content and above all trust in a school's leaders.
I've worked under enough leaders in various school situations to know that Boris Johnson, from what I have seen and read in the last decade, would make a truly abysmal leader of an educational institution. Fortunately, Boris Johnson isn't going to become the head of a school where I work or where mine or anyone else's children are pupils, where they are growing up and trying to understand the world around them. It's a way too responsible post.
Which of course begs the question, how can 43% of the population think he should be leading a whole country?
…..Like I said at the start, a feeling of despair this week.
[Post edited 9 Dec 2019 20:57]
Would I trust this man to be the head of the my children's school? on 20:58 - Dec 9 with 1047 viewswkj

I think Boris is a bit like GWB was for the United States, a public face for decision makers in the background.

Crybaby
Poll: Who do you want to have win the playoffs then?
Blog: The Identity Crisis of Modern Football

Would I trust this man to be the head of the my children's school? on 21:04 - Dec 9 with 1017 viewsDistantBlue