Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Question for the Eco warriers on here 10:17 - Oct 20 with 4178 viewsbluelagos

Understand there are lots of ways to reduce our Co2 emissions / carbon footprint, but how can we ever be carbon neutral?

Just by eating say plant based diets, we still have an impact, tools for farmers need to be made, food needs to be moved. We need clothes. We need heating in winter.

So even after we go as green as possible, surely we will still generating a carbon footprint? Whaf am I missing?

Poll: This new lockdown poll - what you reckon?

Question for the Eco warriers on here on 10:20 - Oct 20 with 3507 viewsFootballpete

I'm by no means an expert, but aren't there things that can be done to counterbalance the examples you site, such as reforestation?

Poll: Which Top Gear presenter is the biggest dickhead?

Question for the Eco warriers on here on 10:21 - Oct 20 with 3504 viewsHerbivore

Yes we will always have a carbon footprint but it's about offsetting it. The world can cope with us producing a certain amount of carbon dioxide and things like re-wilding help to increase that capacity. The issue is not to produce more carbon than can be absorbed by the environment, and things like going vegan, not flying, using public transport etc. help individuals to ensure they aren't producing an excess. What's really needed though is for businesses and governments to make changes to ensure they are carbon neutral as that will have a bigger impact than individuals making changes.

Poll: Should someone on benefits earn more than David Cameron?
Blog: Where Did It All Go Wrong for Paul Hurst?

Question for the Eco warriers on here on 10:24 - Oct 20 with 3484 viewsStokieBlue

It's possible to be carbon neutral but it would be difficult at the moment. Certain technologies, some of which might not be that popular would make it possible.