Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Football has moved on? 12:50 - May 4 with 1765 viewsswede

Is "football has moved on" just another lazy phrase like "be careful what you wish for"?
I would be interested to know, if that is true, why George Burley and Terry Butcher could not have moved on too like others of their generation still doing a good job.
There is no doubt in my mid that his style of football was the most exciting we have seen at PR since Sir Bobby. What is there to stop that being replicated today?

I have very little coaching knowledge, but am genuinely puzzled by the phrase.
Football has moved on? on 12:59 - May 4 with 1730 viewsIllinoisblue

well said. I'm not sure Burley is the answer but critics who say "football has moved on" are being lazy. At its core, football is a rather simple game. To suggest that a man who played for 20 years and managed for 20 years wouldn't be able to comprehend today's game is laughable.

62 - 78 - 81
Poll: What sport is the most corrupt?

Football has moved on? on 12:59 - May 4 with 1727 viewschristiand

I believe GB's footballing philosophy would actually suit today's football climate. At the very least we will all know as we walk down Portman Walk, Ipswich are going to play some decent football today.

Poll: Where will we finish this season?
Blog: Full of Optimism and Hope, the League One Kick Off is Finally Here!

Football has moved on? on 13:25 - May 4 with 1689 viewsMarshalls_Mullet

Very much agree, its a pointless phrase and ignores any sort of context.

Football is a simple game.

Poll: Would Lambert have acheived better results than Cook if given the same resources

Football has moved on? on 13:28 - May 4 with 1681 viewsDanFord